What if Real Estate Isn't Mentioned in the Probate File?

5 Replies

While researching probate case files, I come across the following scenario quite often:

- There's no Estate Inventory sheet in the file

- The Decedent (the deceased) has a property registered in their name, which is the same address that shows up when I look them up in the phone book.

So does this mean that the case just hasn't gotten to the point where the inventory has taken place yet? 

I even came across a situation today where the inventory sheet had "n/a" in the real estate assets section, but I knew for sure that the Decedent passed-away in a property that is in their name with the county, which confused me.  

I'm still learning the probate process, so forgive me if this is a dumb question.

So, in summary, my question is should I still mail the Executor/PR about the property that I know is in the Decedent's name at the county, even if there is no mention of it in the probate file?

Frankly, I don't know the answer, however that never stopped me from having an opinion.

I suggest calling a few PR's and just ask them what is going on. Hard to say about your state's forms or the process.  Check some older case files and determine if a lack of inclusion of real estate info is typical or if files commonly get amended later.

When I want to learn something new, I envision writing a book with chapters and research the heck out of it thoroughly. 

Originally posted by @Rick H. :

Frankly, I don't know the answer, however that never stopped me from having an opinion.

I suggest calling a few PR's and just ask them what is going on. Hard to say about your state's forms or the process.  Check some older case files and determine if a lack of inclusion of real estate info is typical or if files commonly get amended later.

When I want to learn something new, I envision writing a book with chapters and research the heck out of it thoroughly.