Finding Owners for vacant houses

6 Replies

So i been driving for dollars lately and i've been sending out letters to the absentee owners for those vacant properties but theres a couple of houses i been trying to figure out where the owners are. I searched in Property Appraisers, property shark, and any source of information where i can find the owners current address or any type of contact info but all i get is that address where the house is vacant but obviously no one lives there, kinda strange but i would like to hear from experts on how you find property owners because im new to this and been trying to get my first deal under agreement to wholesale. Any advice would be great and much appreciated. Thank you for your time. 

@Account Closed , I ran into a similar problem with a property I want to buy. I could find the guy's name, but it says he lives at the property, which he clearly does not.

I asked our mailman if he knew about it, and he told me they moved to the next town up, and gave me a name that is not connected in any way to the house - said it was the guy's wife. This happened just the other day, and I will search public records in that town to get a current address and try again.

My mailman is very chatty, and has had the same route for about 100 years. He knows everyone on the street, how long they have been there, and where they move when they leave. He is an excellent person to be friendly with. Maybe your mailman is too?

Have you looked at the tax record? Where does the tax bill get sent, and is it paid current?

Google (Name of County) Recorders office, or (Name of County) Tax Assessors office.