Researching FSBOs to cold call for seller leads

10 Replies

Hi Guys,

I recently have added a VA to my REI business. I'm very new to working with VA's and also new to REI. Right now I have my VA cold calling ads from craigslist and other FSBO sites.

I wanted to know how should I filter which ads to call. I rather not have my VA waste time on calling every ad on the sites.

For craigslist I do a search. "-apartment -apartments -broker -realtor -realty" with 3 bedrooms. Is there anything else I should filter out or look for in the ads for my VA to call?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Originally posted by @Henry Moore :

Hi Guys,

I recently have added a VA to my REI business. I'm very new to working with VA's and also new to REI. Right now I have my VA cold calling ads from craigslist and other FSBO sites.

I wanted to know how should I filter which ads to call. I rather not have my VA waste time on calling every ad on the sites.

For craigslist I do a search. "-apartment -apartments -broker -realtor -realty" with 3 bedrooms. Is there anything else I should filter out or look for in the ads for my VA to call?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I would suggest filtering by any language that screams "Distressed Seller".  For example, "Motivated Seller", "Must Sell", "Need to sell fast!", etc.

Gerardo Dominguez, Real Estate Agent in IL (#887086)
Originally posted by @Henry Moore
 I'm looking for wholesale, flips and lease options.

For lease options you may as well call everybody, in my experience you can't tell from the ad whether there's a possible deal there.

For wholesales/flips you probably want to filter out "renovated" since there are plenty of other flippers out there.

@Doug Pretorius