The right place to start

6 Replies

I am a full time maintenance technician for an apartment complex. But like anyone I want to be my own boss. I have all the skills and attributes to make a home beautiful. Basically I've narrowed it down to flipping or buying and holding for a rental property. But I'm leaning towards flipping. I've heard it can be risky. some tips on building a buyers list? And tips on getting the right loans, and fully verifying the home doesn't need more than I have analyzed it to need? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you very much biggerpockets community!! 

@Tyler Nelson - Its really a win-win if you are open to both strategies. Buy, rehab, try to sell. If selling does not work - go ahead and rent it out......

that's smart Justin I like that. Thanks! Should I look for a forclosed home my first buy or should I lean towards a home that was not forclosed on? 

Hey @Tyler Nelson welcome to BP...sweet name by the way.

With the background you have as a full time maintenance technician at an apartment complex, you have an AWESOME advantage that not many people have. Also, being right outside of Minneapolis, you're in a great area for investing. 

If I were you, here is where I would start. 

1) J Scott's Book on Flipping Houses

2) @Brandon Turner 's book on getting properties for No Money Down

3) Once you've done that, the world is your oyster. Start networking with people in your area and offer up your know-how. You'll be on you way to meeting your goals in no time.

Solid profile. Keep thinking big brother. 

Best of luck

Tyler

Medium regular logo   png file   quick print for sticker web  etcTyler Flagg MBA, Ragnar Realty, LLC | [email protected] | 405‑320‑9880 | http://www.ragnarrealty.com

@Tyler Flagg thanks so much I'll dive into those two reads as soon as I'm done with this message. Dream big, think big, live big!