Invest On Own Or Through Crowdfunding?

8 Replies

Hello, all - I am brand new to both the bigger pockets community and real estate investing (other than REIT's).  Just starting out, am I better off investing with one of the crowdfunding firms (like Realty Shares, etc.) or are there advantages to investing in separate properties on my own?  Looking forward to hearing your opinions.  Thank you.

my personal suggestion is to get your feet wet with your first deal on your own....

i'll clarify you will need a realtor, a lender, a contractor, a title agency, a broker in order to complete the deal.

If you have purchased your own home, then you've been through the process once and that may be enough to consider yourself into real estate investing. most financial investors want to know you can swim before they jump in the water with you.

also the first few deals are pretty easy to get the money through banks at a low interest rate. you go to outside investment options when you can't get banks to throw money at you. 

private investors, hard money lenders, and crowdfunding will eat into your profit margins.

with all that said, you're not alone, you have this entire bigger pockets community here to answer your questions when they arise. some are good answers, others are not as good, but we're all trying and learning here.

Thoughts?

B

Hi Carl,
To clarify, are asking the pros/cons of being a passive investor in CF and being an active investor owning your own property?

@Carl Sanger ,  investing on your own in direct real estate gives you the most control. You know exactly what property is being purchased. On the other hand it  also does require a lot of time to learn about real estate, pick out the right property, hire a management company, etc. this may or may not fit your needs depending on your situation.