How to prepare myself as an investor

7 Replies

I am a 20 year old student currently at the University of New Hampshire who just recently sparked a large interest in real estate investing, especially in rental and multi-family homes. My question relates to how i might go about educating myself using resources other than a book or website(book recommendations would be greatly appreciated as well)? What are the best ways to get hands on learning in the real estate industry? Does it come from talking and networking with local realtors and other investors, shadowing or working in an investment firm? What were some of the ways you got started in the industry that involved hands on learning?  

Easiest way to learn things like rehab and the costs of such is to volunteer with habitat for humanity, other than that you can just analyze properties to get a feel for your market after a while you will just know what a property should go for.

If you have time for a part time job, you could work with a property management company.  You would learn the ins and outs of what ti takes to have properties- how to deal with tenants, manage repair requests, fill vacancies, do inspections, handles all the nitty gritty.  THis is the part that boots people out so knowing this and being able to handle is the way to go in my opinion.  

I had someone who freaked out that there was a scratch on the front door after someone had lived there for 2 years..They preferred to sell the house than deal with tenants and repairs...