Sending out my first marketing round

9 Replies

Hello all, I’m PCSing to whiteman AFB at the end of the year. I’m planning on buying a fourplex, but there are none in the market currently. I’m not moving until December so I decided to try out some direct mail marketing. I graduated with a computer science degree and found a way to use the county website photos and address to send out postcards. I used the building use code to find all the fourplexes around Kansas City and used some fancy code to download all the images. My postcard says “I love your property at (address). Looking to 1031 exchange, scale, or sell? Call me at (my number)” with a big photo of that property on the side courtesy of the county assessor website. Does that sound like an effective tactic? I don’t want people feeling uncomfortable or getting sued. I looked it up and since it’s a government product it’s not copyrighted. Any help would be great. Thank you!

@Grayson Gist - wow - sounds great to me. 

I know that Deal Machine lets you send a postcard with a pic of the house (not sure how that would make the home owner feel) but if they are rental properties it should be fine.

Love to hear how it works out for you - 

I have a few of my clients using postcards with the photo of the property. I have even received a few. At first it does seem a little creepy but the end results they have shared with me is they are getting a better response rate then without the photos. Good luck and let us know how it goes.

Grayson,

Good for you to get started. The most important thing is to get something in their hands that tells everyone what you do. The phone will ring with all kinds of responses. Some good and some well... It may take you a few mailings to get the exact respobse you want. Condier some different copy, with or without photo or branded/unbranded till you figure out what works best.

You will also get mail back. Figure out how to find new addresses for those.

Good luck.