How do I vet a non local private lender?

6 Replies

Hello, I am still learning how to do my due diligence. I need some sound advice on how I go about vetting a private investor that has contacted me from BP. 

As a piece of reference, his name is Steven Wilson. I would like to accept his offer, but want to be sure I’m not being led into a scam of sorts. 

Please help me out fellow BP’ers😉😁

Originally posted by @Isaac Chun :

Hello, I am still learning how to do my due diligence. I need some sound advice on how I go about vetting a private investor that has contacted me from BP. 

As a piece of reference, his name is Steven Wilson. I would like to accept his offer, but want to be sure I’m not being led into a scam of sorts. 

Please help me out fellow BP’ers😉😁

There a re a lot of things you can do but nothing is perfect.

You can ask if he has lent on other projects and has references. You can ask if he is licensed. Some lenders have to be licensed, some don't, but it's a good indicator if he is. Ask what entity name he would be lending from and check RipOffReport.com to see if there are any complaints. Ask how much the application fee is. If it is more than $0 ask why. (There shouldn't be any upfront fees) Ask if he lends against the project or against your credit. Ask how many points he charges and how much the "junk fees" are. Ask him if the loan has a prepayment penalty or a balloon payment. Ask if he releases all funds at closing or does he have "hold backs". Ask what documentation he requires to do the loan. Are you comfortable giving him the documentation?

Nevada is easily the most restrictive state in the nation, to loan money, @Isaac Chun. For the purposes of making a real estate loan, NV does not distinguish between business and consumer purpose loans. Your lender must be both a licensed Nevada broker and possess an NMLS registration to originate any real estate loan in this state. It's a rare out-of-state private lender has both of these.