Help I’m New to Wholesaling

17 Replies

Hi all,

I am very new to Wholesling as well and am spending a fair amount on marketing. My big question is ..once I get a seller, what next? Do I get a contract with n assignment clause from an informed atty, do I figure out cost of rehab, do a title search or tank sweep for the potential buyer?? Please help, I have to admit I am overwhelmed by all of the moving parts, but I know I have the tenacity and follow through to make this happen.

TIA

Emma

Emma Bennett

@Emma Bennett I have no idea what a tank sweep is. But everything else is fine. Doing a title search is a good idea to confirm that you actually have signatures from everyone you need. I would get an estimate from a couple of contractors too, that way you can give the investor an idea of what it will cost for a local available crew to do the work.

Doug,

I am very grateful for your response.  A tank sweep is a search for an old oil tank underground on the property. It may just be a NJ thing! I obviously need an attorney to draw up an assignable contract or is there a boiler plate one I could access?

Many, many thanks Doug.

My best,

Emma

@Emma Bennett set up an appointment to have your contractor give a repair estimate. This piece is key yo wvaluatimg a deal. Once tou run your numbers, make your offer to seller. ARV-20-30% equity-your assignment fee. Lock it up and begin marketting the contract.

As a buyer, I usually do the underground tank sweep, but getting a good repair estimate and good comps is very helpful to me and goes a long way in building trust. The wholesalers that can provide accurate numbers I am always coming back to for more deals.

Originally posted by @Richard Loniewski :

As a buyer, I usually do the underground tank sweep, but getting a good repair estimate and good comps is very helpful to me and goes a long way in building trust. The wholesalers that can provide accurate numbers I am always coming back to for more deals.