New to real estate investing

6 Replies

I am new to real estate investing. Although I am striving to go above and beyond in this career field I don't know where to start! Most recommend reading books and studying the field as much as I can, while others say a mentor or just buying a house and learn as you go (although I'd rather not go this route). Any advice?

Most people here will tell you the theoretical text book versions of "steps how to make it".

Honestly, that is great to  know but that is simply not going to get you far. You need actual steps, that are practical from the perspective of someone that has been in your shoes, that remembers how hard the struggle was, that knows how difficult it was to break through the analysis paralysis phase, that made mistakes, learned from them, and can predict where you will also stumble and fall and give you pointers when and where to be extra careful.

So if I have convinced you that I know what I am talking about because I HAVE been there, this is what you do, knowing now what I wish I knew then.

GET A WEBSITE! 

The end!

To be successful at REI you need to generate leads. That is the hardest part for most.

The way you find/get these leads will make or break you.

What I will tell you next is not the most popular choice, and that is exactly WHY I am in such a great position.

Get a website immediately. Learn the ins and outs of SEO.

Anything else will fall into place as you go. Just trust me on this one.

Originally posted by @Charles Carillo :

@Vanessa Ellerbe

A website will help to brand you and your business. Social media helps to build credibility with people that are planning on working with you.

Hello my little Yoomanz,

Charles is only partially right... verrrrry partially.

A website is WAY more than just to brand your business. yes yes sure sure, a website can be ideal for branding and I absolutely do not disagree. But my little munchkins, step back and look at the bigger picture.