What are some good buy/hold rental areas in Ohio?

31 Replies

@Trecia Benjamin You should look at the Columbus market. It is the only major Ohio city that has a positive population and job growth. If you plan on buying and holding the property, then it is the place to buy. If you want more short/medium-term cash flow, then look at Cleveland and Cincinnati.

I am a Realtor, property manager, and investor in Columbus, OH. I encourage you to check out my BP profile to learn more about my background. Please let me know if you have any questions or if I can help you with anything.

Originally posted by @Remington Lyman :

@Trecia Benjamin You should look at the Columbus market. It is the only major Ohio city that has a positive population and job growth. If you plan on buying and holding the property, then it is the place to buy. If you want more short/medium-term cash flow, then look at Cleveland and Cincinnati.

I am a Realtor, property manager, and investor in Columbus, OH. I encourage you to check out my BP profile to learn more about my background. Please let me know if you have any questions or if I can help you with anything.

More important than the market itself is where you buy in said market. I don't do business in Columbus or Cincinnati but if you're looking at Cleveland you'll want to check out The Ultimate Guide to Grading Cleveland Neighborhoods for a nice dive into what's what in that market.

Trevor, what is your strategy and goals? Are you looking to invest in your immediate area, or are you looking to invest at a distance.  Where are you located? This would be a good starting point. 

From their determine what kind of risk tolerance and return requirements you have.  Ohio has many markets.  It’s a very broad question to ask where in an entire state without knowing anything about you or what you are looking to accomplish.