HELP!!! About to loose money in a JV deal..

34 Replies

Hello BP im a newbie in RE and i entered in a JV contract with another newbie to purchase a historic SFR in Fairmont Heights MD using a hard money lender and closed on October 2018. Our JV agreement is im paying for the down payment and closing cost its about 45k total and he will do the overall work for the project.

Fast forward he finished the renovation and listed the property on May and up until now we do not get any offers and our contract with the hard money will due end of December. You can see the detail of the property price history on zillow from 399k last May down to 285k this month. Im in panic mode right now for im about to loose a lot of cash for this project.. any help or advice for this will greatly appreciated.

address is 612 60th place fairmont heights MD.

Thanks!

PJ

Our purchase price is 170k for the property and 84k for the renovations. 12% interest plus 5k for the points and closing. I gave 40k for the downpayment and 2500 for the appliances and 2500 for some interest payments. We plan on refinancing it but my JV partner says its not an option because the appraisal for the property is only 307k and 40k closing cost. We are going to meet today and discuss other option.

$170 + $84 + $5 + $25 (interest guess) + (what am I missing?) = $284. If you sell for your current $285 price, your losses after costs may be narrowed...and the $307 appraisal suggests it will sell for that amount.

Not sure what the $40 is for...refinance closing costs are not that high.

We make decisions with the best information we have, take action, learn, and pivot going forward.

@Pedro Jose Villaroman

I just looked at the listing on Zillow. 2 things from my perspective-

1) Starting at $399 obviously was a bad idea, and a turn off at this point seeing it on the market so long and dropping $115k, that’s huge.