Chris L.
  • Triangle NC
Votes |
New to investing, looking for input on house purchase

Chris L.
  • Triangle NC
Posted Jan 25 2021, 10:35

0 votesNo votes yet

Hey there! I’m new to investing in Durham and I am thinking of buying a neighbors 3 bedroom house near Duke. It’s not going to be a steal because it’s close to Duke, but I think it might be easier to rent and or sell in the future. Wondering if you experienced folks could offer some advice to a newbie to purchasing an investment.

1. The location is good-near Duke-but it’s not a cheap house-roughly 330k or so less any repairs. The owner is my neighbor and has offered to let me make first offer. His realtor is bringing in an appraiser to give me a fair starting value and they said I could deduct from there for repairs because they are selling as is. Prior to COVID folks were often asking for homes to purchase in the area and even rent because of the housing shortage. Not sure how things ae now with COVID. I do know I get calls all the time asking if I’m selling my house and I reside right next door,but I’m assuming those are wholesalers . I won’t get a steal on the house but trying to figure out if its a good investment. How do you go about determining whether a property is a good investment? Do you have an expense vs profit calculator that helps guide you as to whether it’s a good investment?