Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Kendrick Pratt
Votes |
Check my work please

Kendrick Pratt
Posted Jun 8 2022, 19:37

Hello everyone! My name is Kendrick and I am new to real estate investing and im practicing my deal analysis, using the rental property tool on this website and using rentometer for an average rent rate. I found a single family home 3116 Wesleyan Dr S, Fort Worth TX 76105 to rent. 

Purchase price: $155,200

Down payment: $0 (Im military so i plan on using the VA Loan)

I would love any advice on this. I did a 3% interest rate, vacancy of 5%, management fess $0 (because i'm local and would manage it myself), tenants would pay for the rest of the "custom expenses" (gas, electricity, etc). 

Any help would be awesome! Thank you so much!

Thank you!

Kendrick Pratt

User Stats

Votes
JD Martin
  • Rock Star Extraordinaire
  • Northeast, TN
Votes |
  • Northeast, TN
ModeratorReplied Jun 8 2022, 21:42

OK.

1. Where are you getting a 3% interest rate from still?

2. If you assume 0% management fees, that probably means your model won't work unless you manage it forever.

3. You have no funds for capital expenses (capex) - roof, HVAC, etc - or maintenance/repair. 

Just based on what I can see from your limited posting I would not do this deal. 

User Stats

Votes
Lucia Rushton
  • Realtor
  • Dallas - Fort Worth Metroplex, Tx
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Dallas - Fort Worth Metroplex, Tx
Replied Jun 9 2022, 06:42

@Kendrick Pratt. What work needs to be done to make it rent ready ? What class neighborhood is it in ? That will dictate the maximum rent.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Joel Allen
  • Rental Property Investor
  • San Antonio, TX (Lender in TX and SC)
Votes |
  • Rental Property Investor
  • San Antonio, TX (Lender in TX and SC)