Real Estate Deal Analysis & Advice

User Stats

Votes
Roman Puzey
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Denver CO
Votes |
Does this report look like it was done correctly?

Roman Puzey
Pro Member
  • Denver CO
Posted Dec 20 2022, 18:34

Hi,

I'm just starting out looking for a multi-property house hack. I'm planning on living in this property for a year and renting the second unit, then will rent both units moving forward. First, I'm trying to understand if I've filled out this report correctly. Second, at first glance this is a terrible deal considering I won't see any profit for at least 10 years, but that's based on living there and paying half the mortgage myself -  once I've moved out of this property and start renting both sides it could potential start to cash flow?

I like this property because its rent ready. However, thinking I should consider a lower cost investment in order to get to higher cash flow sooner. Thanks in advance for your guidance!

View report

*This link comes directly from our calculators, based on information input by the member who posted.

User Stats

Votes
Kevin Sobilo#1 Legal & Legislation Contributor
  • Hanover Twp, PA
Votes |
Kevin Sobilo#1 Legal & Legislation Contributor
  • Hanover Twp, PA
Replied Dec 20 2022, 18:49

@Roman Puzey, I would fill it out as if you would be renting it from day #1. This way you can assess the deal as a buy and hold rental which is will be after year #1.

I would also budget 5% each for vacancy, maintenance, and capital expenses (15% total).

Based on what I see it does not appear to be a cash flowing deal.