IS this a good deal?

5 Replies

House on Mississippi Coast. Owned by man in Military. Transferred and needs to sell. Appraised at $572,000, needs $85,000 in repairs, asking $375,000 which is about $200,000 less than appraisal. Good neighborhood. Recent property sales in area are in this range. House built in 1929. In 1996 developer bought house completely modernized the house.

Current house notes are $4,500.

Then I get this information, "There is a lawsuit pending against the developer and real estate broker". I have asked for more info about this but just sent the email a few minutes ago.

In any event I cannot find an investor to even talk to about this. I am a newbie and don't know any.

Am trying to determine how to find a few. I really just want to do a deal with someone else taking this over. Pay me a finder's fee and i will be happy.

Any suggestions

Alice

Alice,

There could be no equity or the property could be in dispute for some time to come. It sounds like the suit is not against the owner so less likely the house will be tied up but still too hard to tell given the limited info provided.

You want to get in and out and make a quick buck. You are effectively dumping the legal questions in someone else's lap. Most investors want nothing to do with such things.

You will do better if you find an investor who has a legal background (retired or active lawyer comes to mind). Granted they will also know that if you want to collect a fee for being a birddog you are operating illegally as you are not a principal and you do not have a license (assumption based how you presented this idea).