Buy with cash or get a loan?

10 Replies

Hello Everyone, I have no experience in real estate investing but I have been really interested in it and am taking courses which will lead me to this filed. I hope to learn from all of you too. My goal is to be a landloard. I am looking at a couple of properties right now. My question is: Suppose I have around $80,000 cash available, is it better to buy a property with all cash or buy two by paying some downpayment and get loans? What's your opinion? Any input is appreciated!

@Gina Chang  

Welcome to BP!!

Check out the beginners' guides here under the LEARN tab at the top.

Leverage is generally going to get you better returns on your investment.  I recommend that you get started in the business with an owner occupied 2-4 unit.  But with 80k in cash, the 25% down on a 3 or 4 unit property shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Find a property and then I would find out exactly how much the following expense are going to cost you each month. "The tenant pays" is a good answer as well. Put those numbers up here and I'll tell you what I would pay for the place.  Set a goal for both Cash on Cash return (example 15%) and a minimum monthly cashflow (example $250) and make sure you can find a place that will give you those returns.  Not every market has those places.  

Taxes

Sewer and Water

Trash

Heat/Utilities

HOA

Cap Ex and Ops

Insurance

Mgmt Fee - as a % (general consensus here on BP is 10%. include it even if you think you are going to self manage)

Vacancy- as a %. (8% represents 1 vacant month/unit/year)

Hi Gina,