Turnkey Investing: Is it a good start for a newbie?

9 Replies

Hello All!

I am a complete newbie to the real estate market, although I have read tons of books and attended seminars, I have yet to make a deal.

I was wondering if I should start out by going to a turnkey company like Norada or HomeUnion to get started on investing?

What are your thoughts on this? and if you recommend a turnkey company, which ones are good ones to try?

Thanks!

Hello @Ilona Kovacs ,

Welcome to BiggerPockets.

Your question is a good one, and a common one.  The first thing to consider is what are you real estate investing goals, and from there what is your strategy.  Most of our clients are looking to build their portfolio with hassle-free cash-flow properties.  They don't want to get involved in rehabbing, property management, etc.

The other question to consider is how much time you have to be able to "invest" in your real estate investing.  If you have a lot of time then you can probably acquire, scope, rehab, and flip (or hold) properties with the help of the right team (contractors, etc).  If you don't have a lot of time then turnkey investment properties can make a lot of sense for you.

Another resource to consider is your experience level.  You mentioned you're a "newb ie".  A lot of our clients are new too and find that this is an ideal way to start building their portfolio of properties.

I started investing long ago (age 18) and have invested our-of-state since 2003.  I've made my fair share of costly mistakes, which fortunately has led to my success and perfection of a system that work for me (and others).

Hope that helps a bit.  Feel free to post (or PM) any other questions.

Continued success!

@Ilona Kovacs