First rental property deal! What do you think?

8 Replies

Soooooooo I've been browsing around for house hacking property in my area of Dallas and I've finally found one that I think I can make work, but I'm really new to this so I'm unsure about taking that leap of faith. Here's the estimated numbers so far...

6b/3b triplex
Built 1925
Don't know last renovation
Colonial revival style
Growing part of town
$110k total
$1,200/mo income (other 2 un @$600each)
$560/mo estimated mortgage
$123/mo taxes
Don't have a solid insurance quote
$240/mo (10% ea for vacancy and repairs)

After crunching that I came up with over $250 cash flow each month, and getting to live for no money each month, which is a huge incentive for me. And it's about 10-15minutes from downtown.

What do y'all think?

Thanks in advance, BP community! :)

-dan

I'd throw in a budget for a capital expenditure reserve on top of your maintenance fund. Big ticket items like furnaces, roof, driveway, AC, etc that can wipe out a maintenance fund in the blink of an eye. Aside from that, seems like you're on the right track. 

Originally posted by @Daniel Porter :

Soooooooo I've been browsing around for house hacking property in my area of Dallas and I've finally found one that I think I can make work, but I'm really new to this so I'm unsure about taking that leap of faith. Here's the estimated numbers so far...

6b/3b triplex
Built 1925
Don't know last renovation
Colonial revival style
Growing part of town
$110k total
$1,200/mo income (other 2 un @$600each)
$560/mo estimated mortgage
$123/mo taxes
Don't have a solid insurance quote
$240/mo (10% ea for vacancy and repairs)

After crunching that I came up with over $250 cash flow each month, and getting to live for no money each month, which is a huge incentive for me. And it's about 10-15minutes from downtown.

What do y'all think?

Thanks in advance, BP community! :)

-dan

Hi Daniel,