Newbie Numbers Analysis. Expenses Too High?

6 Replies

Newbie here trying to learn how to calculate numbers. I just picked a property on Redfin for practice called the insurance company to get a quote and asked around for water and sewer prices. However, my expenses based on the expenses I am seriously overshooting the 50% test ($1450 for 50% test vs $2075 estimated expenses). Am I missing something here or these expense numbers are high? Or maybe the figures are over estimates? This doesn't even include garbage, lawn care and snow removal.

Rent estimate based on rentometer

https://www.rentometer.com/analysis/2-bed/344-sunnybank-avenue-stratford-connecticut-06614/h4Jfk0QRCRw/overview

https://www.redfin.com/CT/Stratford/344-Sunnybank-Ave-06614/home/107226269

1450 * 2 = 2900

Insurance - Umbrella coverage

Taxes

Water (was told this could run between 70 and 100)

Sewer

Vacancy 7%

Capex

Repairs

Property Management

Hi, I'm new also and wanted to use this to as a test myself also.  I feel you are lacking useful information to get real numbers on this deal. One is rehab costs you might be willing to put into this project, the closing costs, also from the links it shows as a 4 bed with 2 bathrooms but on the rent it shows only 2 bedrooms so is this a house hack?  What is also helpful to know is on one of the sites it loads 20% down payment so that right or will it be lower then that.

I seen you have real high on the repairs and cap ex.  I also see you have put the taxes and insurance on this list but that is usually add into the Mortgage (this shows in the numbers on the site link you gave). I used 

https://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/analyze-rental-properties---four-square-method-worksheet

to do the numbers.  I made a excel sheet to make running the numbers faster.  you might want to use this to find more numbers you need to put in.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and posting this for a look at. 

Travis Merrill