Help me analyze this deal

4 Replies

Hi @Phillip Mitchell , first off I just want to say that I am also an absolute newbie and just starting analyzing deals.  I looked at your analysis and a couple things came to mind, not sure how relevant they are since I'm just as green as you but I figured it'd be worth starting  conversation and maybe we can both learn a little from each other.

First thing I noticed is that you didn't include anything for Property Management.  Totally fine if you want manage yourself but when I'm analyzing I add it in because even if I manage myself now, I know that over the course of the 30 year mortgage I'm absolutely going to want to pay someone to do it.  That 10% management fee is going to eat up your entire cash-flow.

The next big thing is that you didn't include Mortgage Insurance, you will likely need to pay mortgage insurance if you plan on using that low of a down payment.  Calculating this is something I'm struggling with when analyzing my own deals so I can't help much there.  I also noticed that you didn't include water & sewer, totally fine if you are going to make your tenant pay but I've heard some areas won't let you charge your tenant for that utility so that could be worth checking in your area if you haven't already.   

Another thing is your closing costs, you say $4000 for CC but when I calculate 3% of your purchase price I get $4,140, its a small difference but it seems like you are also forgetting to add in cost of appraisal and inspection.  My loan officer gave me some general price ranges for appraisals and inspections and I've been adding about $1000 to my closing cost when analyzing deals to stay safe.