Skip to content
Tenant Screening

User Stats

Votes
Michael Elkins
Votes |
What's the best way to go about screening tenants?

Michael Elkins
Posted Jun 1 2023, 11:40

Newbie here at being a landlord. What's the best way to go about screening tenants? Do property management offer just the screening and placing of tenants and then removing themselves from the picture?  

User Stats

Votes
Brad Larsen
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • San Antonio and Austin, TX
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • San Antonio and Austin, TX
Replied Jun 1 2023, 11:52

@Michael Elkins Some management companies will offer tenant placement (for a fee).  If you do it yourself, I would recommend providing applicants a document on what your specific screening criteria is. Some landlords use Smartmove for background checks (Transunion) and BP offers resources as well.

Brad

User Stats

Votes
Soh Tanaka
  • Property Manager
  • Lindenhurst, IL
Votes |
  • Property Manager
  • Lindenhurst, IL
Replied Jun 2 2023, 06:34

There's a lot to it, but here are some of the tips.

- Know the Federal, State, County, and Local laws.

- Apply the same criteria to everyone, and treat everyone the same. 

- Have everything on record (NOT necessarily saying to video/voice record without approval)

- Have written criteria

- You may need to jump through some hoops to be able to use a screening company, so you may want to contact them sooner than later. 

- Know that you will run into a gray area.

- Hiring a professional doesn't mean they will do a good job. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Mark Townsend
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Wilmington, NC
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Wilmington, NC
Replied Jun 2 2023, 07:19

I’m on my first property as well but I successfully used Zillow to screen my tenants and it worked for me.