Marketing Your Property

User Stats

Votes
B Lacy
Votes |
Estimated repair value

B Lacy
Posted Dec 24 2021, 06:39

So im just starting out learning the wholesaling business and my question is how do you know how to estimate a house for repairs to make a offer? If I'm not use to what things cost how would I know?

User Stats

Votes
Joe Homs
  • Flipper
  • Mission Viejo, CA
Votes |
  • Flipper
  • Mission Viejo, CA
Replied Dec 24 2021, 09:30

@B Lacy I use 10% of the After Repair Value here in California, which is an expensive state to flip.  I would check with a local "Investor" or Realtor in your area to see what their numbers are.  

Good Investing...

User Stats

Votes
Barry Ruby
  • Developer
  • Boulder, CO
Votes |
  • Developer
  • Boulder, CO
Replied Dec 24 2021, 10:10

@B Lacy the first step is to accurately determine WHAT needs to be fixed. From there determine the quantities (units) and quality of what needs to be fixed.

When you have this data in hand, ask 3 or 4 contractors to provide their bids. Be sure to have them base their quote on the same data to ensure that you are getting “apple to apple” proposals.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
B Lacy
Votes |
Replied Dec 24 2021, 12:22

Thank you, I'll keep that in mind

User Stats

Votes
Richard Loniewski
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New Jersey
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New Jersey
Replied Dec 29 2021, 14:53

Use a contractor on a few property walkthroughs and learn, also find average costs for every major repair (flooring, windows, bathrooms, kitchens, roof ECT..) Once yo have done a few flips it becomes easier

User Stats

Votes
Jerryll Noorden#2 Marketing Your Property Contributor
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Wilton, CT
Votes |
Jerryll Noorden#2 Marketing Your Property Contributor
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • Wilton, CT