Votes
Aaron Law
  • Rental Property Investor
Votes |
Managing your property manager

Aaron Law
Posted Jan 26 2022, 17:46

I'm new to using a property manager to manage my SFH which I'll start renting out in about 2 months.

I read a post on here the other day talking about better managing your property manager. What are the best tips on how I can better manage my property manager so they're doing their best job at taking care of my property?

Are there any benchmarks in relation to property management that I should know and hold my PM to?

Thanks for your replies!

User Stats

Votes
Theresa Harris
Pro Member
#3 Managing Your Property Contributor
Votes |
Pro Member
#3 Managing Your Property Contributor
Replied Jan 26 2022, 17:53

You hire a PM that you trust to do their job and then you let them do their job.  If you don't trust them, find another PM or try managing the property yourself.

User Stats

Votes
Aaron Law
Votes |
Replied Jan 26 2022, 19:32

Thanks for the reply. Maybe using the "manage the PM" terminology was not the best choice of terms. Is trusting them all we have as a property investor to know if they're doing a great job? Are there not some benchmarks or key performance indicators that we should hold them to? And if along the way we notice the quality at which they're managing the property is slipping away from those indicators then we decide to hire a different PM. For a much a numbers game REI is, I'm checking to see if there are wise investors that have come before me that have those "numbers", or whatever they may be, for tracking PM success.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Jan 27 2022, 05:10
Quote from @Aaron Law: