Skip to content
Managing Your Property

User Stats

Votes
Caitlyn Drapeau
Votes |
ISO The BEST Property Management Software!!!

Caitlyn Drapeau
Posted Jul 7 2022, 13:01

Hi all! 

I am a licensed Realtor in the state of NH & ME. I am currently in the process of starting a side business doing property management. This all started with a buyer client of mine who purchased a few investment properties. Anyways, I am new to the PM side of real estate and could use all the advice I can get. After speaking with some people in the industry, they made it clear that getting my hands on good software is key and really is the first step! Can anyone please recommend the best property management software? Is there an all-in-one that not only tracks rents but, also handles background checks, credit checks, employment verification, etc? It would also be helpful if you could simply list all the software you personally use to run your PM business and tell me what you are using it for specifically. Thank you so much!!! :) 

User Stats

Votes
Drew Sygit#2 Managing Your Property Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Royal Oak, MI
Votes |
  • Property Manager
  • Royal Oak, MI
Replied Jul 8 2022, 10:48

@Caitlyn Drapeau BEFORE you proceed, have you check your state requirements for property management?

Most states require the management company to have a broker license.

Also, have you explained to the broker your license is under that you will be exposing their license to additional liability via your property management? Usually, they will have to modify their E&O insurance to cover PM activities.

Now regarding your actual question about PM software. 

You can approach this in two ways:

1) FREE - there are numerous options for this, just search online. Challenge is many of them go out of business or merge and they have limited features.

2) PAY - the big four are Propertyware, Appfolio, RentManager and Buildium - in order of our preference.