Property Assesment Query

10 Replies

Hello Investors,

I am a newbie from Canada and have just started looking for properties. I have came around one multifamily property with 4 beds. Can you guys please help me in doing assessment to this property if I should buy it or not keeping in mind Canadian market.

Selling price: 279,000

Rental Income: 2700 x 12 = 32400

Expenses (Utilities paid by landlord): 9018

Vacancy, Capex, Repair & maintenance (assumed 5% each): 4860

Mortgage (5% Down, 4% CMHC insurance, 3.04% int, 5 years fixed, 25 amr): 1310 x 12 = 15720

Cashflow (yearly): 2802

Experts,

Any suggestions?

Originally posted by @Christopher Phillips :

@Devang Teewar

Do you plan to occupy one of the units? If no, you probably won't be able to get a loan with 5% down.

No I was looking for complete house. I think first property can be bought with 5% down ?

@Devang Teewar

No. 5% down would be for owner occupants in Canada.

If you're looking to buy as a non-owner occupied investment in Canada, your minimum down payment would be 20%.

@Devang Teewar

You can occupy one unit and then consider it a primary residence. That would allow you to go with a lower down payment, which will depend on the number of units. 5% is usually 1-2 units.

Otherwise, you would need to come up with 20%.

Devang Teewar

You can occupy one unit and then consider it a primary residence. That would allow you to go with a lower down payment, which will depend on the number of units. 5% is usually 1-2 units.

Thanks Christopher :) 

Devang Teewar

For insured, high-ratio mortgages on owner occupied residential properties in Canada, the maximum LTV is 95% on SFRs and duplexes and 90% on triplexes and quadriplexes.

For a conventional, residential mortgage the LTV must be "less than or equal to" 80%.

I suggest 8.5% vacancy minimum. 10% repair/ maint unless this is completely renovated in every way. And you’re gonna need 20% down I suspect. Utilities look high to me.