Investors in Canada using Interest-Only financing!

11 Replies

Hi, 

My name is Chris and I am very new to the exciting world of real estate investing, but I have a keen interest and I am very motivated! Interest-only mortgages are now made available to Canadians by some finance institutions. I am new to the idea because as we know, Canadian banks are "boring". However we are secure;) But a new outlook into creating positive cash-flow for income- replacing investors is exciting am I right? What are your thoughts? 

Interest only financing has been available for quite some time (LoCs, bridge loans, off-market notes, etc) - this is not a new thing.

I’m sorry Roy but I don’t quite mean a LoC and such. I mean if I were to mortgage an investment property with a 20% down payment I do not need to make payments on the principal for a set amount of years, rather I can just make interest payments for say the term of the contract (5,10 years) at a fixed rate. If this has already been available to Canadian I was completely unaware. Keep in mind I am still a newbie so go easy on me. 

Originally posted by @Chris Kennedy :

I’m sorry Roy but I don’t quite mean a LoC and such. I mean if I were to mortgage an investment property with a 20% down payment I do not need to make payments on the principal for a set amount of years, rather I can just make interest payments for say the term of the contract (5,10 years) at a fixed rate. If this has already been available to Canadian I was completely unaware. Keep in mind I am still a newbie so go easy on me. 

Chris:

A mortgage is what you (the mortgagor) give the lender (the mortgagee) as security for the financing provided.   Technically, you can give a mortgage to secure a line of credit (i.e a HELoC), a private loan, or another type of instrument.

Thank You Roy. Perhaps my inexperience is showing when trying to explain myself. I will re-word an article I recently read from a reliable source.