• Windsor
Votes |
How to find Foreclosures in Ontario

Quin Green
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Windsor
Posted Jul 23 2019, 16:35

Hi!

I am new to real estate investing!  I was hoping someone could help guide me in the right direction on how to acquire foreclosures in Ontario Canada?

Cheers,

Quinton

User Stats

Votes
Cole Black
  • Markdale Ontario
Votes |
  • Markdale Ontario
Replied Jul 23 2019, 19:16

@Quin Green are you looking to do rehabs, brrrrs, rentals or what is your goal with these foreclosures.

User Stats

Votes
Quin Green
  • Windsor
Votes |
  • Windsor
Replied Jul 23 2019, 19:45
Originally posted by @Cole Black:

@Quin Green are you looking to do rehabs, brrrrs, rentals or what is your goal with these foreclosures.

I am looking for a place to house hack and looking for income properties!  Will get into rehabing, etc later on down the road potentially. Thanks!

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Roy Cleeves
  • Residential Real Estate Broker
  • Kitchener, Ontario
Votes |
  • Kitchener, Ontario
Replied Jul 25 2019, 14:59

In Ontario, Canada we really don't have many foreclosures. The big lenders all do Power of Sale instead of foreclosure so that they never own the property. Power of Sale homes are listed on the MLS system and can be found on realtor.ca yet you would not necessarily know that they are a power of sale. The best way is to get a Realtor in the area that you want to buy and have them do a key word search such as Bank or Trust - these show up in the Seller names. Many of the lenders will not even allow us to say power of sale anywhere on the listing yet when owned by a bank or trust company then it is usually a power of sale and they usually sell for less due to poor condition of the home. I hope that helps!

User Stats

Votes
Replied Jul 26 2019, 10:49