First-Time Home Buyer

User Stats

Votes
Mario Cruz
Votes |
Advice needed for 1st investment

Mario Cruz
Posted May 21 2022, 20:35

Hi, my name is Mario and I am brand new to real estate investing. We are a family of 4 and looking for our first investment opportunity and seeking advice from the BP family. Our plan is to purchase a multi-family home, live in one unit and rent out the other. We have roughly 100K available and plan to purchase with an FHA loan. In your experience, does this seem like a reasonable plan or would purchasing a single-family home to live in for 1 year, then renting out be a better option? Any advice would be appreciated!

User Stats

Votes
Andrew Garcia
  • Lender
  • Charlotte, NC
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Charlotte, NC
Replied May 22 2022, 07:37

Hi @Mario Cruz, house hacking is a great plan! With an FHA, you do not need to use up all your assets. It is only 3.5% down. You can then buy a single-family in a year with 5% down and live in it for a year and repeat.

With house hacking, you either have a significantly reduced monthly mortgage payment or none at all!

With a single-family, you generally have more comfort and higher appreciation. 

It really depends on which strategy you prefer. If you go with single-family, also look into 3% down conventional financing.

Hope this helps! Let me know if I can be of any assistance.

User Stats

Votes
Mario Cruz
Votes |
Replied May 22 2022, 10:35

Hi @ Andrew Garcia, Yes I will look into buying a duplex. The only problem is when one hits my market is gone within a day. I appreciate the advice. Thanks!

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
John Warren
  • Real Estate Broker
  • 1658 N. Milwaukee Ave Ste B PMP 18969 Chicago, IL 60647
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
Replied May 23 2022, 04:05