Skip to content
First-Time Home Buyer
Account Closed
Votes |
First Time Home Buyer Looking to Invest in a Rental Property

Account Closed
Posted Jun 10 2022, 19:47

Hello all, 

I am new to this BiggerPockets Community. I moved to New York some time ago and am now considering investing in a rental property. I would prefer to invest within the next 8-10 months depending on the market. I do not know much about investing and everything that goes into it. So, I would like to do much preparation before I jump into the market. Definitely would like to meet like-minded people and get to know their ideas and thoughts on investing. Also, I would like to connect with real estate agents who can work with a newbie like me and guide me through the investing journey. Since I am based in New York City I would like to have my first property within a 1 or 1 and half-hour drive to and from the city. 

Looking forward to learning a lot from this community.

User Stats

Votes
Kayla Gatmaitan
  • Lender
  • California
Votes |
  • Lender
  • California
Replied Jun 10 2022, 20:00

Hello @Account Closed, congratulations on this new journey! You have come to the right place to learn. I would suggest reaching out to an agent and lender in your local market to see how much you qualify for in your area. Then see what types of properties you can purchase in a 1-1.5 hour distance from the city! There are tons of ways you can invest in real estate and it all depends on your risk tolerance and style of investing you would like to pursue. Best of luck and happy to talk more anytime!

Account Closed
Votes |
Replied Jun 10 2022, 20:06

Thank you Kayla for replying. Definitely going to follow your advice. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Janus
  • Realtor
  • Columbus OH & Cleveland, OH
Votes |
  • Realtor