Canceling Property Management Contract

11 Replies

I'm going to purchase my first multifamily property and learned that the seller currently has a contract with a property management company that expires in 1 year. This is an issue because as a newbie I want to learn how to manage the property myself as I will be occupying a unit. When I went to view the property, tenants were already complaining about issues reported to PM that had not been addressed so I'm definitely trying to take on a bill for a under performing service, when I believe in my ability to do things myself. 

With all that being said, I want to end the contract and want to know if it is my responsibility to pay for the cancellation fees or should the seller pay for cancellation since the contract is with the seller, not me?  At this point I don't even know what the fee will be, but I know there is one.  

@Danielle J.  I would think that the seller would have to pay the fee. I don't see how you can be held responsible for a contract you were never a part of. If it were one of my sellers, I would just let them out with no fee, but I'm probably too nice for my own good :)

@Dawn Brenengen  yes girl you probably are too nice because these folks out here in Cali want all their coins lol. I am hoping the seller will handle this matter. I know if it were my contract I would take full responsibility for it, but it's not :)

I would think the seller would be responsible but I would also think that the management contract would be null and void if the property sold.

Here in AZ a Mgmnt contract can usually be cancelled with 30 day notice and I believe a sale would void the contract.

This would be lovely if it's null and void @Dick Rosen I will find out the nature of the contract and whether or not there are fees within a few days..

@Danielle J.