I wonder if this is one of the reasons Josh Dorkin doesn't care for HOA'S?

8 Replies

That is a sad story. I have my share of HOA issues as well. I can't wait to get rid of my properties that have an HOA

415-779-2155

I deal with HOA boards for a living and I'm not even sure "sad" is the right term here. I would go as far as to call this pathetic.

I've got a feeling this thing is about someone having some kind of personal vendetta.

That being said, I wouldn't go near a HOA property unless I got it really really really cheap and thought I could turn it over fast. I value my privacy and freedom way too much for that kind of BS.

Originally posted by @Marc M. :

I deal with HOA boards for a living and I'm not even sure "sad" is the right term here. I would go as far as to call this pathetic.

I agree it is ridiculous.  I didn't watch the video, but I did notice the neighbor in the picture has a very similar truck in terms of size.

The only explanation I can possibly think of is that there is some personal vendetta, and someone is abusing their position in the HOA.

My brother in law owns and lives in a condo complex in which you're not allowed to park in your driveway overnight. Your car has to be parked in your garage or in a parking stall. Some of the residents don't like the look of parked vehicles in a driveway. Crazy, I would never live there just for that reason.

I live in a condo community and checked out the CC&R's before I committed to buying. It says that you are supposed to park in your garage and that you need to maintain it in a way that allows for the parking of both vehicles. It doesn't say anything about parking on your driveway so I believe that I'm in the clear. I feel reassured because most people park in their driveways and it's never been issue. IMO, things like this never SHOULD be an issue but that's the point of this post....