Need to submit quote to manage 40 units for HOA.

5 Replies

Hello BP,

Thank you all in advance for taking the time to read my question.

I own a rental condo in a development and have recently asked to join the HOA board, as I was running into issues renting my own unit. I am a licensed agent in South Florida and I manage a small portfolio of my own rental property, as well as flip condos/houses full-time. I do most of my own labor and am very familiar with managing tenants, subcontracting out work, and keeping up property.

The current management of my condo dev was being done solely by volunteers (I don't think they had any specialized licenses). When I approached the president of the HOA, I mentioned that I'd be happy to volunteer to help them out, as the woman who was doing most of the work has fallen ill. I told him what I do, and he suggested I submit a quote to manage 40 units by next week. While I am familiar with managing my own portfolio, I have never done anything on this scale. It doesn't seem very difficult: I will basically be responsible for accounting, screening (very low turnover; very few rentals), common grounds maintenance, and resolving any problems that may arise.

Okay, so my question is: what would be a reasonable rate to quote them for my monthly fee of managing 40 units? I was thinking $1000/m would be reasonable, but seeing as how it was being managed by volunteers up until now, I feel some hesitation about naming my fee. He also mentioned that another local management company would be submitting a quote of their own. I have no idea what other companies would charge for this amount of units. Should I offer a flat fee or per unit fee? Also, as it was previously being managed by people without any specialized license, is it necessary that I obtain some kind of license in FL other than my real estate agent license?

Any feedback from experienced property managers would be greatly appreciated!