HOA vs No HOA

14 Replies

I am looking at a buy and hold strategy with the idea of increasing properties over time. I have been approached by a trusted friend of a friend who is offering new construction at an early bird bulk buy discounted price. This property has a HOA which I have never considered as a good investment due to less of my payment going to equity (instead going to the HOA) and not having total control of the unit. My potential partner argues that it will increases property value and in a long term investment you do not have to worry about the complex getting run down.

Thoughts?

@Kevin Kite the answer is - there are good HOAs and bad HOAs. I am a professional HOA manager. If this one has good rules regarding the upkeep of homes and the quality of homes (like all of a similar size, similar materials, etc.) AND they enforce those rules then that neighborhood will probably maintain its value better. Likewise enforced rules that prevent people from painting their house purple and storing junk cars on the front lawn. Therefore your dollars spent are probably worth it. However, if they don't enforce the rules (or don't have them) or the opposite - are arbitrary Nazis about a tiny infraction or pick on certain residents while ignoring others - then maybe that neighborhood is to be avoided. The best thing to do if possible is to be active - volunteer for the board or a committee. Learn the rules. An HOA is only as strong or good as the people who run it.

@Kevin Kite

Teri gave you some great advice. I would add, your only assurance will come from joining the board once an association has formed. Otherwise, your investment will be in the hands of anyone that purchases in the community. There are no skills or qualifications required, just ownership. Good Luck. 

thank you Teri and Nicole!  I will consider that on my future purchases.