Colorado Condo Conversion Questions

4 Replies

Hello all, I'm new to BP. I have several questions about converting a 6 plex apartment building into individual condos and selling individually.

This is near Durango Colorado, and I think the numbers work. As I understand it, the apartments are all separately metered, and an HOA has been established. My questions are:

How hard, and what does the process look like to change to individual ownership?

If I can do this, what happens with the HOA at the end of the deal?

Should I be concerned about being sued after the fact over roof, siding, defects, etc. 

Any idea on costs for conversion- just general idea. 

Thanks very much for any help. I have a few SF rentals, but this is out of my understanding. 

Originally posted by @Eric Nelson :

Hello all, I'm new to BP. I have several questions about converting a 6 plex apartment building into individual condos and selling individually.

This is near Durango Colorado, and I think the numbers work. As I understand it, the apartments are all separately metered, and an HOA has been established. My questions are:

How hard, and what does the process look like to change to individual ownership?

If I can do this, what happens with the HOA at the end of the deal?

Should I be concerned about being sued after the fact over roof, siding, defects, etc. 

Any idea on costs for conversion- just general idea. 

Thanks very much for any help. I have a few SF rentals, but this is out of my understanding.