HOA Lien + HOA has leased property to a tenant

8 Replies

I bought a property in NJ via a foreclosure auction. Prior to my foreclosure acquisition, the status was as follows:  

a) There was a prior HOA lien on the property for outstanding dues. The HOA had taken possession of the property and executed a rental agreement (significantly below market) with a tenant to recover the o/s HOA

b) This rental agreement between the HOA and tenant expires at end of this year.

c) Now that I own this property via foreclosure purchase, can I get this lease terminated (HOA does not have standing). What are my right regarding access to this property and being able to get this tenant to either pay market rent or exit the property.

Thanks so much!

Shefali

If there are any HOA experts who might have some insight into this - would love to hear your thoughts! Thanks so much

I am not an HOA expert, nor am I an attorney. I strongly suggest you get an attorney.

From my understanding of contract law, the lease should transfer to you, upon sale of the home. This is no different then someone being foreclosed on who has a tenant in the property. This is assuming the lease does not say anything about it being voided upon sale fo the house.

State law prevails, as the fed Tenants In Foreclosure Act expired.
Example, in FL if you buy at auction and there is a valid, arms length lease in place, you can void it with 90 days notice.
The fact that it is an HOA should have no bearing.

You may have however inherited any unpaid monies toward that HOA lien. Again, state specific, in FL you would.

Agree with @Wayne Brooks .  This will depend on your state law and a lawyer who specializes in foreclosures is your best bet.

I see you are in New York, so I am going to err on the side of the tenant on this one. The tenant likely has the right to stay in the property at the rate on the lease until the lease expires, but all rents should now come to you instead of the HOA.