Insurance Claim from Previous Owner

5 Replies

I bought a home 4-5 months back that in which I currently live. The home is fine, but I've found some water damage in the garage wall (where an ice dam backed up) and would like to replace the drywall and ensure there is no mold present. It is possible/feasible or unheard of to request that the previous owners file an insurance claim as the damage occurred before I moved in?

I wrote the previous owners a personal letter upon buying the home and they still live locally. Based on incoming mail, I've also learned that I'm a graduate of the same college as one of the previous owners. Do you think this would help me persuade them to work with me on an insurance claim? Obviously I'd be happy to do any/all of the paperwork as possible and to also pay any fees/deductibles associated with the claim. Is there a statue of limitations on this type of event?

I'm curious to hear what others say but if someone approached me with that request I'd dig my heels in as hard as I could. Unless the seller was intentionally hiding a material defect that he was aware of at the time I don't think you'll have much recourse as you likely had an opportunity to perform due diligence inspections prior to the sale. As far as I'm aware sellers have no obligation to warranty the condition of the home after a sale so long as they disclosed known defects.

On the upside, it doesn't sound like that extensive of a repair and likely one that wouldn't be worth filing an insurance claim for anyways.