Need advise about Homevestors franchise or partnering with experienced investor.

14 Replies

Hello everyone,
I'm new in the investing business and I still hunted by the analyzing to much and afraid to make a move on my own. So I'm wonder if joining Homevestors franchise is a good idea? Or if partnering with with a experienced investor is a better option to begin investing. Or is there any REI meetup group in the Bay Area?

I am not specifically familiar with Homevestors but I strongly suspect they are not handing you a business in the box. Not like say a McDonalds franchise would. 

I would question VERY hard their success rate. Franchises take a heavy cut off the top which can make it very hard to be profitable. At least one person tried to be a Homevestors franchise here in baltimore but they didn't make it long. There is NO brand recognition here in Baltimore. Is there i your area? If not why pay for brand recognition you are not getting? If I am going to have to build the brand in my area, I want to build my own brand. 

I am sure there is either meetup groups or REIAs in your area.

Medium crab1 copyNed Carey, Crab Properties LLC | http://baltimorerealestateinvestingblog.com/

Hey @albert F,

Ah, suffering from ye olde paralysis by analysis, eh?  A common ailment, especially here in the Bay Area where so many folks come from a tech background.  

I know of at least three people in the Bay Area who have Homevestors franchises.  I believe they are doing well, but all had lots of experience before buying the franchise.  I also know they exact a substantial fee from franchisees, but apparently it works for lots of people.

Attending local Meetups and trying to hook up with a mentor is also an excellent option.  Just don't stress too much about not knowing enough to get in.  If you wait until you think you're ready you may never do a deal.