User Stats

Votes
Regina Smith
Votes |
Downtown condo sitting with over 100 Days on market

Regina Smith
Posted Jun 3 2022, 06:34

Hey there! 

I’m an agent and I have a listing for a 2/bed, 1/bath first floor condo with street access in downtown Cincinnati. it’s been on the market over 100 days and priced at the average of 300k. All the agents that show it can’t figure out why it’s not selling at this price. It’s updated, staged and clean. The top objection is  that HoA won’t allow short term rentals.

We have talked to them and they are unwilling to do anything less than 1 year lease.

The seller isn’t willing to go down in price.  I don’t think he should. I think this could easily rent for 2000/m. 

Any ideas or help would be appreciated! 

User Stats

Votes
Karl McGarvey
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Houston, TX
Replied Jun 3 2022, 07:15

"First Floor" sounds like the biggest challenge to me. Downtown street access means noise, so people want to be higher up. Owner financing is a way to attract buyers, but that only works if your clients own the unit outright.

User Stats

Votes
Scott Wolf
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Boca Raton, FL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • Boca Raton, FL
Replied Jun 3 2022, 07:48

@Regina Smith, unfortunately, if it has not sold at that price, that is the issue.  A listing is an obligation, and if you can't move it, pricing is usually a key factor.  Typically in NYC, lower floors had lower pricing, so make sure it is in line with the market, including its location on the first floor.

BiggerPockets logo
Find, Vet and Invest in Syndications
|
BiggerPockets
PassivePockets will help you find sponsors, evaluate deals, and learn how to invest with confidence.

User Stats

Votes
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
Eliott Elias#3 BRRRR - Buy, Rehab, Rent, Refinance, Repeat Contributor
  • Investor
  • Austin, TX