Skip to content
Market Trends & Data

User Stats

Votes
Eder D.
  • New to Real Estate
  • New York, NY
Votes |
Investing In New York City (Upper East Side - Yorkville)

Eder D.
  • New to Real Estate
  • New York, NY
Posted Jun 8 2022, 07:12

Hi, I'm new to real estate investing and I've been reading the Rental Property Investing book by Brandon Turner. That book is why I am here today asking this question. In the book he always talks about looking for a great deal and I was wondering if getting a condo in Yorkville would fit that description. The condo that I'm currently looking at looks great on paper and is around 300k which I believe, for the area, is a great price-point especially considering what it was worth pre-covid. The only thing that is a little obscure to me is the market in the area and tenant demand for 1 ba 1 ba's in the area. I walked around the area while searching for an apartment of my own and was hard pressed to find anything decent available. When I finally found a spot, the agent who gave me the tour and handled the paperwork said the market for the area is in high-demand and people are moving back into NY fast. Should I take this as a sign to buy or is there some other info I'm missing? 

User Stats

Votes
Alexander Szikla
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York City
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • New York City
Replied Jun 8 2022, 14:30

What is the monthly maintenance? What is the square footage? 

User Stats

Votes
Mohammed Rahman
  • Real Estate Broker
  • New York, NY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • New York, NY
Replied Jun 8 2022, 16:09

Hey @Eder D. - Condos and Coops can go either way depending on what their monthly dues are (since you will be responsible for this on-top of mortgage payment). If you're unsure what the tenant demand is for the area, simply look up rental availability in your neighborhood.