• New to Real Estate
  • Boston, MA
Votes |
Getting started in Philadelphia

Riccardo Dalla
  • New to Real Estate
  • Boston, MA
Posted Nov 8 2022, 19:02

Hey everyone! I'm a newbie living in Boston and want to invest in Philadelphia (family there, some knowledge of the city, adequate price point). I've started looking at and analyzing some deals, but I was wondering if anyone had tips on the best neighborhoods to look at considering profitability as well as crime rates etc.

And has anyone here had any kind of issues with crime when investing in Philly?

Thanks!!

User Stats

Votes
Cj Koch
Votes |

Hey Riccardo, I think Grays Ferry is decent, all things relative. Plus it's within close proximity to strong neighborhoods like University City and Graduate Hospital. Best of luck!

User Stats

Votes
Eric Greenberg
  • Investor
  • Philadelphia, PA
Votes |
  • Investor
  • Philadelphia, PA
Replied Nov 9 2022, 05:40

Hi Riccardo,

Choosing a neighborhood can be challenging. Id ask what your goals are, type & class of property you are looking for, budget, and if you plan to hire a PM or do it on your own with your local friends/family. 

BiggerPockets logo
Meet Investor-Friendly Agents
|
BiggerPockets
Network with top investor-friendly agents who can help you find, analyze, and close your next deal.

User Stats

Votes
Riccardo Dalla
  • New to Real Estate
  • Boston, MA
Votes |
  • New to Real Estate
  • Boston, MA
Replied Nov 9 2022, 05:58
Quote from @Eric Greenberg:

Hi Riccardo,

Choosing a neighborhood can be challenging. Id ask what your goals are, type & class of property you are looking for, budget, and if you plan to hire a PM or do it on your own with your local friends/family.