• New to Real Estate
  • Florida
Votes |
Best Florida Markets To House Hack In?

Kalea Sanders
  • New to Real Estate
  • Florida
Posted Jan 21 2023, 10:10

Hello Folks! Jacksonville native here. I know it's a great market but simply don't want to live here anymore. My strategy for purchasing my first home is via house hack, and I've been struggling on narrowing down a new market to start my investing portfolio. I plan on investing in a multi-family home. Any suggestion on what markets I can narrow my search down too? 

User Stats

Votes
Replied Jan 22 2023, 17:35

I'm working on my first home purchase and plan to house hack. I don't see how you could go wrong anywhere in Florida as long as the numbers make sense. I'm a beginner and not an expert, so it's just my opinion. But most of Florida is desirable for many people across the US and abroad. Since you are house hacking, maybe you can narrow it down based on your wants/needs in location and what you plan to do with the property whether short term or long term. 

User Stats

Votes
Ryan Lesley
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Fort Collins, CO
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Fort Collins, CO
Replied Jan 22 2023, 17:44

Hey Kalea, 

Welcome to the BiggerPockets family and congrats on taking the first steps toward you first investment property!

The market that sticks out most in my mind is Tampa, specifically because I myself have been researching markets for investing in Florida and happened across this great podcast by On The Market who is affiliated with BiggerPockets. Here is the link to the podcast: The 8 Worst and BEST Housing Markets of 2023 and While I think the whole episode (about an hour) is worth a listen, the specific section that covers the Tampa market is 34:05 - 37:32 

I hope this helps, and good luck 🤝🍀

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats