Skip to content
House Hacking

User Stats

Votes
Winston Hu
Pro Member
Votes |
CA - restrictions by HOA in SFR community to rent?

Winston Hu
Pro Member
Posted Feb 27 2024, 22:32

Hi everyone! Newbie here trying to get started. 

I'm looking to submit a bit for a SFR in the Bay Area in a gated community with a HOA that I've heard have limits on rentals. Does anyone know if these rules still stand with new CA state laws? I'm planning on living in it with, but if I convert part a 2nd dining room and entry room into a liveable bedroom + kitchenette, will I be able to rent this out even if the HOA says there's restrictions on renting? What if there's a 25% cap of rented homes and that's met already?

I've read a few things online and I think it sounds legal/doable. I just want to double check and see what folks think here. 

Thanks so much! 

Winston 

User Stats

Votes
Chris Seveney
Pro Member
#2 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Votes |
Pro Member
#2 All Forums Contributor
  • Investor
  • Virginia
Replied Feb 28 2024, 04:58
Quote from @Winston Hu:

Hi everyone! Newbie here trying to get started. 

I'm looking to submit a bit for a SFR in the Bay Area in a gated community with a HOA that I've heard have limits on rentals. Does anyone know if these rules still stand with new CA state laws? I'm planning on living in it with, but if I convert part a 2nd dining room and entry room into a liveable bedroom + kitchenette, will I be able to rent this out even if the HOA says there's restrictions on renting? What if there's a 25% cap of rented homes and that's met already?

I've read a few things online and I think it sounds legal/doable. I just want to double check and see what folks think here. 

Thanks so much! 

Winston 

NOT AN ATTORNEY. It is my understanding the law still allows rental caps at 25% or greater (cap cannot be lower). So if they had a 25% cap and were at 25%, then you are out of luck.