Skip to content
House Hacking

User Stats

Votes
Eli Crapper
Votes |
House Hack Fourplex vs. Renting all Units and Staying in my Current Rental (Canada)

Eli Crapper
Posted Mar 1 2024, 14:48

Hi. I am a Canadian first-time home buyer and have just purchased a fourplex. I am trying to decide if I should live in one of these units vs. renting all 4 and continuing to rent at my current house. For context, I am a doctor with a stable income and was able to put 20% down comfortably to avoid insurance. If I can make more income from renting the unit at my new fourplex compared to what I pay now in rent what are the downsides of not living there? My mortgage has been approved saying that it would be owner-occupied though my broker told me there is no real consequence of just not living there once it's already been approved. Other than having a quarter of the property (purchased for $850,000) qualify as my primary residence are there other benefits, tax or otherwise, are there of living in the property? Everyone seems to advocate for househacking but why would you do this when you can get rent cheaper somewhere else nearby? I have been looking everywhere for this topic and have not found any advice on this.

tldr. Why would I live in my rental property when I can rent it for more than what I am paying for rent now?

Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Stevo Sun
  • Calgary, AB
Votes |
  • Calgary, AB
Replied Mar 1 2024, 17:32
Quote from @Eli Crapper: