Votes
Reginald R Cloutier Jr
  • Griswold, CT
Votes |
Asking for a friend on lending

Reginald R Cloutier Jr
  • Griswold, CT
Posted Nov 8 2022, 06:15

Hi reaching out for a friend I have been emailing and private lending company got info for terms and conditions through email and gave me a website to apply for loan. In email it's states bank statement and pay stub and Id card and an orientation fee of $1650. I gave info of property I'm looking to go for a long with numbers for rehab and everything. I did the online application through website with basic info I have sent my id card or statements and I got an email saying they got application and to send 1650 fee to process. I just starting to feel a little off now with the process, it could be best I'm still very new to this and trying to avoid a scam. The group is American lending https://americafirstloan.com/a... any info or help be great thank you.

User Stats

Votes
Khemraj Sarju Jr.
  • Lender
Votes |
  • Lender
Replied Nov 8 2022, 06:21

Applications should always be free. Origination fees are paid at closing. Proceed with caution on this company. We never ask the client for any money up front. 

User Stats

Votes
Nate Sanow
  • I​nvestor & Agent
  • Tulsa, OK
Votes |
  • I​nvestor & Agent
  • Tulsa, OK
Replied Nov 8 2022, 06:43

Never, ever, ever pay those fees before closing. 

User Stats

Votes
LaMancha Sims
  • Hard Money Lender
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
  • Hard Money Lender
  • Atlanta, GA
Replied Nov 8 2022, 06:57
Quote from @Reginald R Cloutier Jr: