Votes
Johnny Scott
  • Medford, NY
Votes |
New to flipping, Private lenders? Help please

Johnny Scott
  • Medford, NY
Posted Nov 17 2022, 02:58

Hey I'm new to investing with a background in home renovation. A friend of mine told me to post on here and ask are private lenders the way to go and if so does anyone know of some who would be interested in partnering to flip some properties?

User Stats

Votes
Nate Sanow
  • I​nvestor & Agent
  • Tulsa, OK
Votes |
  • I​nvestor & Agent
  • Tulsa, OK
Replied Nov 17 2022, 04:19

Does it have to be private lending? Hard money can often function like private, and I find many people when starting out need HML vs PML….its a way to get a notch on the belt, and then on future deals gain private money. Many HML fund acquisition and rehab, the trick is getting a lower loan to cost ratio.

I am not sure actual end final private lenders will engage here on BP right away or if ever - I would actually love it as I’d love to raise private money myself.  However I have found that what does work is building rapport and that comes with a few deals done…with your background in renovation, maybe you could also look into a local partnership, especially if you can afford to do most of the labor but wait to be paid on the backend, and find an investor who would value not having to pay crazy high remodel costs along the way.  I am looking into such deals from an investors perspective in my market, and see that value myself.  

I wish you well on your journey to success.  

User Stats

Votes
Bob Reinhard
  • Lender
  • Patterson, NY
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Patterson, NY
Replied Nov 17 2022, 05:03

Greetings to you out on the Island.

Your background helps assist your money access but 1. Private money is from private people, 2. hard money is from a lender and likely more readily available.

Reach out any time to discuss more.

Much success.

Bob

User Stats

Votes
Kenneth Garrett
  • Investor
  • Florida Panhandle/Illinois
Votes |
  • Investor