Private Lending

User Stats

Votes
Emily Wilson
Votes |
First time lender - how to prepare?

Emily Wilson
Posted Nov 26 2022, 15:20

We have what seems like a very solid opportunity to be the "Other People 's Money" . I've become a fairly proficient beginner at traditional RE investing -analyzing deals and markets and all that. I get the fundamentals of how to make sure a deal is solid and how to think about it. I am new to loaning money to other people, so I need to learn what are the tools and procedures to analyze a deal from that perspective or what are the places something could go wrong and how do you mitigate that risk. Any suggestions for how to begin learning more about this part of investing?

User Stats

Votes
Mike Eichler
  • Realtor
  • Pocono Pines, PA
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Pocono Pines, PA
Replied Nov 26 2022, 15:46

Obviously just be around the space and people as much as possible and read up on literature specifically pertaining to what you want to know. depending on the types of people you would be loaning to... Lets say you are loaning to flippers, I would read BRRRR, Book on estimating rehab costs, and any other BP books on rehab. If you are looking to loan to STR investors or others of the like I would try to analyze some deals and just read up a bunch on BP's STR and Vacation home investing forum section.

Hope this helps, let me know if you have any more questions. 

User Stats

Votes
Beth Johnson
  • Lender
  • Renton, WA
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Renton, WA
Replied Dec 1 2022, 21:02

@Emily Wilson