Zach Fagas
Pro Member
Votes |
House rules, items check list, any other pre tenant items

Zach Fagas
Pro Member
Posted Nov 11 2022, 09:49

Hey everyone!

I am an experienced real estate agent but rookie landlord for reference.

I just got my first tenant off Furnished Finder! Woohoo!  

I am getting the lease together now.  What other items do I need? Assuming I need some house rules and list of furnished items checklist with replacement costs.  If anyone has any samples of these I would appreciate any help.  

Anything else I am forgetting?

Thanks!

User Stats

Votes
Allen Duan
Pro Member
#3 Medium-Term Rentals Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Property Manager
  • Los Angeles, CA
Replied Nov 11 2022, 15:20

Hi Zach,

You'll need house rules and some sort of house manual that includes check in/check out instructions and information for your home. You can build this out over time, but at the minimum they need to know how to check in =)

You also should be prepared for a post stay inspection so you can check for any damage or missing items. You may know off the top of your head what was in there before this first booking, but creating a system is always ideal.

Also, as a first time landlord, be prepared for how you'll handle maintenance issues and other issues that require boots on the ground. Are you going to go yourself to take care of things or do you have others lined up to help? Your first booking usually reveals many issues that would be hard to notice without living there yourself. 

I hope that helps! Happy to answer any questions.

User Stats

Votes
Zach Fagas
Pro Member
Votes |
Pro Member
Replied Nov 11 2022, 19:35

Great! Thank you.

Yes I have a team full of contractors I am an agent locally and have flipped a couple houses so I have a great team thankfully.

The house we are renting out we actually lived in for the last 4 years so I know it pretty well

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored