• Property Manager
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Votes |
Medium Term Rentals

Braeden Cobb
  • Property Manager
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Posted Nov 11 2022, 17:58

Hey everyone, I would like to hear some strategies on medium long term rentals that people have had success and/or difficulties with. I am in a market where the cooler months do very well and the hot months are slow so I am debating on getting a home and doing mtr for 6-8 months and then str for 4-6 months. Has anyone has success doing this? 

User Stats

Votes
Michael Warthen
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Phoenix, AZ
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Phoenix, AZ
Replied Nov 12 2022, 14:02

As a Phoenix resident I have had similar thoughts about MTR. I was wondering if close to a hospital, the months won't matter as hospitals will still have to have staff during hot months. Hopefully you get some responses!

User Stats

Votes
Colleen F.
Pro Member
#3 Managing Your Property Contributor
  • Investor
  • Narragansett, RI
Votes |
Pro Member
#3 Managing Your Property Contributor
  • Investor
  • Narragansett, RI
Replied Nov 13 2022, 15:03

@Braeden Cobb this is something alot of people get into the idea of but it really doesn't make STR money. Demand has fallen off with the decrease in covid nursing contracts are paying less although there is always demand. I have only one unit in this space so I can't comment too much but that is what I see in the nursing FB groups.

@Michael Warthen I was considering demand in phoenix as I have a home here that I only occupy part time but I think the hospital demand may coincide with the winter months when there are more residents in the area.  A lot also depends on where the hospitals are offering the best money. 

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Messinger
  • Property Manager
  • Poconos, PA