Medium-Term Rentals

User Stats

Votes
Joel Mendoza
Votes |
Mid-term Rental Insurance Policy

Joel Mendoza
Posted Dec 29 2022, 17:06

My rentals are all 30-120 days, averaging 3 months, typically travelling nurses or other professionals. I've been doing mid-term rentals for 5 years now and always paid an expensive short term rental insurance policy through the same company Airbnb offers, Proper. Looking to cut some costs...

Does anyone have a recommendation for insurance company that offers mid term rental landlord insurance?

if not, curious what other mid term investors do? Do you treat it as short term rental or longer term when it comes to insurance? 

Thanks to BP community! 

User Stats

Votes
Andy Eakes
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • San Diego, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Real Estate Agent
  • San Diego, CA
Replied Dec 30 2022, 11:25

Any homeowner's insurance agent will be able to help you, just be honest. I recommend getting an umbrella policy as well. This whole furnished rental strategy has been around for a long time honestly and the insurance aspect is known and common for agents. My insurance agent handled all my furnished rentals no problem. 

• Real Estate Agent

• 858-922-7541

User Stats

Votes
Allen Duan
Pro Member
#3 Medium-Term Rentals Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Los Angeles, CA
Votes |
Pro Member
#3 Medium-Term Rentals Contributor
  • Property Manager
  • Los Angeles, CA
Replied Jan 3 2023, 15:01

I'd like to know more about this too. We started with STRs and also use Proper. We are still using them for our MTRs. 

@Andy, are you saying regular homeowner's insurance can cover damage to furniture and loss of income too? I assume that would cost more than a policy without those coverages. Thanks

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Aaron Porter